kelsey blog

Choosing the college where you want to spend your next four (or five) years can be a really tough decision. I am a pretty indecisive person and I will be the first to admit that I avoided making this decision for as long as I possibly could. I was really afraid of making the wrong decision, but after being at Edgewood for three years I look back and realize that I couldn’t have made a better choice. During my own college search process, I kept a few things in mind that really guided me here.

  • Location! For starters, location was a huge factor in my decision; in fact I think the only thing I knew for sure was that I wanted to be in Madison. I have always loved Madison because is such an incredible city with so many exciting things to do. I love that I can always find something to do whether it is shopping on State Street, trying a new restaurant, or catching a show at one of the many music venues around town. After all this time, I am still finding new things to try and I really appreciate that I am never bored here.
  • Class Size! Obviously the quality of education is a really important part of choosing a college because that is a big part of why you are here in the first place. I am from a small high school, so I am used to having small classes and knowing everyone in them. I always heard people talking about huge lectures in college, so I didn’t even know that I could go to a college where the classes would be small. The average class size at Edgewood is 15, which is actually smaller than any class I ever had in high school! I really appreciate this, because it means I get a lot of one-on-one time with my professors and I really get to know them, which is also nice because they are excellent resources!
  • Majors! For a lot of students, choosing a college where they offer a major you are interested in is really important. This was a little less important for me, because being indecisive I didn’t really have a major in mind when I came here. I did, however, think it was really awesome that Edgewood offered a huge variety of majors and minors and also had some pretty unique programs that you definitely can’t find everywhere. I knew that I would be able to find something that I was really passionate about here and eventually I did (after quite a few major changes, I chose biology!).

All of these things helped me choose to come to Edgewood, but a lot of the best parts about Edgewood I didn’t even know about before I came here. Each year I love being here a little bit more. It is really important to choose a school that feels right for you, and making a list of important factors and touring a lot of different schools can help you do that. Make sure you know a little bit about what you are looking for in a college, but be open-minded! You might not know what is out there, and you might be really surprised with what you find!

