momomBy Morgan Huss

Lent is a 40-day period of preparation for Easter Sunday and one of the major liturgical seasons of the Catholic Church. This Lenten season is based around penitence, prayer, fasting and abstinence.  Lent begins on either Ash Wednesday and ends on Holy Saturday. During the Lent season it is a common practice to give up something of value to oneself to understand the meaning of sacrifice.

This Lenten season I unfortunately was not a good Catholic and went without giving up anything. However, I definitely should have given up chocolate, as I am a chocaholic. This would have been extremely challenging for myself because I ensure that I have chocolate at least once a day. Perhaps next Lent I will be able to give up my biggest vice, chocolate, and I too will understand how hard it is to give something up in the name of faith.

