patricePatrice Morris

In high school I went through five different careers that I really wanted to do when I got to college. Once I came into Edgewood I decided on becoming an early education major. I loved working with kids and it seemed like a great way to give back to the community. The more I did my research, the more I realized that this might not be for me. I took a few education classes and decided that this wasn’t the road I wanted to take.

Once I hit this wall, I panicked. I had no idea where I wanted to go anymore and it was the end of my freshmen year. If this happens to you, and for many people it will, my advice is to take a deep breath. You will figure it out; all you may need is a little extra guidance. What I did at this point was go into career services. They were a life saver. They took my likes and dislikes into concern and showed me a lot of career paths that I never would have even thought of going into. They helped through some tests and their general knowledge on the work world to get me to my major right now of Psychology with emphasis on Human Services, which I will go into the hospital setting to use. They helped get me to the general major and the more I researched it, the more I realized the different fields I could concentrate in.

cc

Career Services Staff: Ellen Bartkowiak, Shawn Johnson and Sara Hanson

I thought I might have been the only one out there struggling with changing my major. It seemed like in college you are defined by your major and if you are going about changing it, it is almost like an identity crisis. Don’t worry. In the US about 80% of college students change their major once. So it may feel like you are alone, but you aren’t many other people are in your shoes. When coming to college there are a lot more options that open up to you that you may have not even realized were there. Don’t worry, you will figure it out and at Edgewood we have a lot of FREE resources to help!

