fra,e 3By Erika Schauer

Growing up, teachers and adults always asked the popular question, “What do you want to be when you grow up?” Answers always included “firefighter,” “doctor,” and “vet.” Although most of my classmates were certain they would be in the NFL or NBA, I was positive I wanted to be a teacher. The follow up question was always “why,” and it took me awhile to understand why it was my calling. Helping people and see them grow and succeed is something that I would love to do every day. Teachers have a huge impact and shape children, and I want to be the person who becomes a positive influence in their life.

I wanted to be sure that I was going into something that I enjoyed, so I volunteered in a 6th grade classroom at the local middle school my senior year of high school. The guidance department at my high school was not in favor of my choice to do this, but it was one of the best decisions I made. Being in the classroom felt like home and I loved working and assisting the teacher and students. This was the time that I became 100% sure this was the career path I would like to pursuit.

My parents were always supportive in whatever career choice I would choose, and they thought education would be a great fit for me. My extended family and family friends would often tell me that “I would not make any money” being a teacher. I am a true believer in doing something that you enjoy rather than being paid more for something that is not enjoyable. I cannot express how excited I am to be in the classroom and impact the educational development of children.

