c09709da-3d35-4ea9-860e-b13d5fc59dec_zpsa0b9b2d6By: Carly Blank

School has never been easy for me, I have dyslexia.  Even spelling the name is hard enough.  For those of you who don’t know what that is, it’s a learning disability.  It causes me personally to mix up letters and numbers when I read, spell, do math, and even talk.  When I take tests, sometimes I don’t understand the instructions well enough and rush through them because I only have 50 minutes to finish.  Constantly having to have things proof read and re-reading chapters in books to make sure I understand it took up a lot of time.  This was causing a lot of problems and my grades were suffering, especially in math and spanish.

I decided I needed help.  Sure I was a little embarrassed, but it was better than another F on a test.  I went to Edgewood’s Learning Support Services and spoke with Lily O’Connell.  She was more than happy to help me and made me feel like I was normal.  She figured out a plan that was personalized for my disability and that would best help me succeed.

Before seeing the Learning Support Services, I would experience the pressure of everyone handing in their test and I would still be on the second page.  Now I discretely bring in a folder to my professors that they put the test in and I go to a quiet room with no distractions.  There, I am able to use the computer for test essays to make sure my thoughts are spelled correctly and make sense.  I can have someone read the instructions out loud to me and re-listen to audio portions of the test as many times as I need.  I am also allowed time and a half, so I never feel rushed.

There are also other places students can get help from tutors on campus, private or in a lab type setting.  The science and math labs are located in Sonderegger 408 and the writing center is located in the library.  Tutors are also located in every dorm and are willing to help you with writing papers, foreign language, math, or science.  And don’t be affraid to ask your professors!  Most have office hours or can set up a time to meet with you and all are willing to help.

Now I am a junior and my GPA is at a 3.7.  I really don’t think I could be here without the assistance of the Learning Support Services at Edgewood College.  I had to get the courage up to ask for help, but it was worth it.  I’ve never been made fun of for my disability and now I openly talk about it so that other students can get the help they need too!

If you are interested in learning more about the Learning Support Services, click here or email loconnell@edgewood.edu.

