My 5 Weeks in Peru
By: Bekah

This past summer I had the opportunity to spend five weeks in Peru on an Edgewood study abroad trip.  Having never previously been out of the country, I didn’t know what to expect- I knew it was going to be a great experience but I didn’t realize that it was going to be some of the BEST weeks of my life!  Just writing about it makes me excited all over again (and let me add, it’s not easy to condense it into one blog!). 

On the trip, there were eight Edgewood students and three professors.  One professor stayed with us the entire five weeks but the other two split the time in half.  We spent the majority of the time in Arequipa, the second largest city in Peru.  It’s an absolutely gorgeous place, surrounded by three mountains that are visible from anywhere in the city, at all times.  The weather was always perfect, sunny and around the mid 70’s or so.  We stayed with host families there as we attended La Universidad Católica de Santa María.  We had three morning classes four days a week with Peruvian professors, learning about literature, language, and the culture (which we received six Edgewood credits for!).  We also spent a handful of afternoons volunteering in a daycare, kitchen, and clinic through a church. 

Besides this routine, we also had a few excursions:

We started out in Lima, the capital and largest city in Peru.  We spent time viewing the city on guided tours, going to a museum, seeing the ocean and visiting a local school.  We also spent a weekend on a trip to see Colca Canyon, which is actually twice as deep as the Grand Canyon!  It was fascinating to watch the giant condors (huge vulture-like birds) soaring over our heads, swooping down into the canyon.  My favorite excursion of all though, was to Cuzco and Machu Picchu.  We spent a day going through the ruins of the ancient Incan civilization.  It was absolutely breathtaking- it’s amazing to think what this civilization was able to accomplish.  It was unbelievable and I would love to go back and do it all again.

So that, in a nutshell, is my trip to Peru.  I HIGHLY recommend the trip to everyone- it was an INCREDIBLE experience!  I would love to go back, but I’m on to my next adventure: a mission trip to Guatemala this summer!

Here are some pictures:

 

