Why I love My Job
By: Meggie

I started working in the Admissions Office over the summer, and I LOVE working here! I can’t say enough good things about having a job on campus. The staff and faculty at Edgewood are all so friendly that it makes for a great working environment. Another huge thing for me is how convenient it is – it takes me three minutes to walk from my dorm to my work. It’s hard to find a job that convenient anywhere. I also love how flexible having a job on campus is. You are able to schedule your work around your classes – whenever works best for you. In addition to that, most on-campus jobs are only during the week, so you don’t have to work on the weekends! Having a job on campus also leads to further opportunities – like learning more about the school and resources available and really getting to know staff and faculty at Edgewood.

 

I only wish I would have looked harder for jobs on campus last year. I am a sophomore, and as an incoming freshman I applied for only a few jobs on campus. I didn’t apply to very many because I was still working at my job in my hometown, so I figured I could just go home and work on weekends if I didn’t find a job at school. I didn’t realize how inconvenient this would be and how much I missed out on by doing this. I also usually worked the entire weekend, which meant I wasn’t even able to enjoy my days off. I really recommend applying for as many jobs on campus as you can. It is so much more convenient than having a job off campus, and it really is pretty easy to get an on-campus job if you aren’t picky where you apply!

