kinseyThere are many advantages to living on campus when you go to college. Some of my favorite things about living on campus include how close I am to my classes and places to eat (Phil’s and Wingra Cafe), the fact that I don’t have to worry about paying monthly rent, and the ease of meeting other people who attend Edgewood. I’m so glad I’ve lived on campus the past two years. Living in the residence halls allowed me to meet and get to know people who have now become my best friends.

It’s especially nice living on campus this year because I’m allowed to have a car as a sophomore. It’s really the best of both worlds. By living on campus, I’m close to everything, but by having my car, I’m free to explore the rest of Madison. Even if you don’t have a car, Edgewood provides a free bus pass–which allows you to get around just fine.

Another thing about living on campus that I currently enjoy is the meal plan. It’s prepaid, so every day I can just swipe my card when I need something to eat. I don’t have to worry about the hassle of making sure I have enough money to get through the day.

Also, the RA’s I’ve had are great. They put on awesome programs and are just great people.

Even though I will be a junior next year and will be allowed to live off campus, I plan to stay on campus in the Edgewood apartments. It’s great that I’ll be able to have a more independent living situation, yet still have the convenience of living on campus. All in all, living on campus at Edgewood has been a great experience and has provided me with new perspectives and great friends.

-Kinsey

