Welcome to the bimonthly Q & A Edgewood College Student Experience Blogs:  Twice a month we post a question, and current Edgewood College students answer the question based on their own experience as an EC student.  Feel free to add your own two cents by posting response comments.  Enjoy.  (don’t forget to check out the EC MySpace page as well)

back to the Edgewood College main website

Beth
Beth
Blanchardville, WI
Major:  Business (concentration-accounting)

A:  I actually didn’t visit Edgewood initially because it didn’t offer the major I was intending but after I switched majors I knew Edgewood was where I wanted to be.  I had moved in my friend a few years ago and simply by moving her into her dorm, I felt a sense of home at Edgewood.  That was the main reason why I decided to transfer to Edgewood because of the feeling of welcome and home that I experienced a few years earlier. 

Brianna
Brianna
Barneveld, WI
Major:  Business-Management and Art

A:  Even though I applied to eight different schools, I only visited one. I visited UW-Richland and really didn’t like how secluded and small it was. I never saw any of the other campuses, including Edgewood. My aunt drove me through Edgewood one day and I decided I liked the looks of the campus. Students should get a tour of the campus to make sure they like it. I made a very risky decision by not looking at all the colleges I applied to but I was lucky that I chose one I love.

erin.gif
Erin
Hortonville, WI
Major:  Music

A:  I actually only applied to two colleges; Edgewood and Carroll, but I visited Edgewood, Carroll, and UW-Oshkosh.

rachel.jpg
Rachel
Kaukauna, WI
Major:  Religious Studies & Spanish

A:  I actually visited a lot of colleges.  During the summer before my junior year I started my college search and visited five.  Marquette University in Milwaukee, Mount Mary in Milwaukee, Viterbo in LaCrosse, St. Norbert in DePere and St. Kate’s in St. Paul.  After that I visited Viterbo, St. Kate’s, and St. Norbert one more time.  When I saw Edgewood though, I knew I wanted to go here.

julie.jpg
Julie
Green Bay, WI
Major:  Business Marketing

A:  At first I really didn’t know what type of college I was looking for: big or small? In a small town or a big city? A private college or public university? But I was only able to decide what type of college was right for me by just visiting other colleges and realizing: “Wow, that was really neat!” or “Hmm… I don’t think I really want that aspect in my future college.” I visited about five campuses before I found my match and was able to realize what type fit me the best.

Leah
Leah
Appleton, WI
Major:  Spanish & Communication Studies
Minor:  Global Education

A:  I visited one other school (St. Norbert College.)  It seemed
like a great school, but the environment was not as stimulating (socially or politically) as Madison is.  They are very comparable in size though and offered equal financial aid packages to me.

Alexandra
Wisconsin Dells, WI
Major:  Deciding (Possibly Communications)

A:  I visited 5 colleges besides Edgewood before making my final decision.

