Welcome to the bimonthly Q & A Edgewood College Student Experience Blogs:  Twice a month we post a question, and current Edgewood College students answer the question based on their own experience as an EC student.  Feel free to add your own two cents by posting response comments.  Enjoy.  (don’t forget to check out the EC MySpace page as well)

back to the Edgewood College main website

Beth
Beth
Blanchardville, WI
Major:  Business (concentration-accounting)

A:  I’ve only been here for a semester but so far it’s been great.  I’ve meet a lot of friends in my classes and I’ve got the chance to get to know my professor too. Considering I transferred I felt very welcomed at Edgewood and that made the transfer much easier for me.  

Matt
Matthew
Centennial, CO
Major:  Sociology

A:  When I first came to campus that first year it was like I was leaving my family for a new family. My dorm was so much fun and I met a lot of people. Once we all met it was like a new family was being created in the dorms, a very fun family. The community atmosphere created in the dorms definitely makes new and returning students very interested in college life.

Brianna
Brianna
Barneveld, WI
Major:  Business-Management and Art

A:  I am currently a second semester freshman. I love it here at Edgewood. I haven’t gotten involved like I planned or wanted to. But right now I’m looking into a couple of different activities I would like to be involved with my sophomore year, including the Ambassadors, SIFE, and theatre.

erin.gif
Erin
Hortonville, WI
Major:  Music

A:  To be honest, it was crazy, but crazy in a good way.  Classes and things like that were a little stressful  but the friends and activities were what helped me release that stress.

rachel.jpg
Rachel
Kaukauna, WI
Major:  Religious Studies & Spanish

A:  I thought that adjusting would be harder, but overall my freshman year was nice.  I met a lot of new people.  Freshman year has been challenging—I took harder classes and more course hours than most people.  I also balanced a work-study job and new organizations.  I enjoyed the challenge of doing something new and different.  It was also hard not seeing my family and friends everyday, but I went home or called or emailed enough that I didn’t miss them terribly.

julie.jpg
Julie
Green Bay, WI
Major:  Business Marketing

A:  Like any new experience, it was definitely a mix of feelings. Of course it was weird being away from the friends and family I’ve been with for my whole life, yet it was exciting to be in a new place and make all new friends and kind of make a whole new beginning for myself. After getting the hang of how college classes ran, where everything was on campus, and how to use the bus system, my life was running pretty smoothly and only got more exciting as I tried more new activities and visited more new places in Madison.

Leah
Leah
Appleton, WI
Major:  Spanish & Communication Studies
Minor:  Global Education

A:  Freshman year was difficult for me because I didn’t really connect to anyone at first.  In October I even applied to a few other universities which I was accepted to.  However, I ended up meeting my best friend and also found a major that really intrigued me.  I am so glad I decided to stay at Edgewood—I have so many opportunities I couldn’t have gotten anywhere else.

Alexandra
Wisconsin Dells, WI
Major:  Deciding (Possibly Communications)

A:  I am just finishing up my freshman year here at Edgewood, and it has been great so far. I’ve met a ton of people I know I will keep in touch with for years. At first it was a hard adjustment having so much freedom. Although there are plenty of people willing to help you adjust, it was the first time in my life where I had to really decide what I was going to do on my own.

