Welcome to the bimonthly Q & A Edgewood College Student Experience Blogs:  Twice a month we post a question, and current Edgewood College students answer the question based on their own experience as an EC student.  Feel free to add your own two cents by posting response comments.  Enjoy.  (don’t forget to check out the EC MySpace page as well)

back to the Edgewood College main website

Beth
Beth
Blanchardville, WI
Major:  Business (concentration-accounting)

A:  I really like the single dorm rooms for one, but I also love the small campus.  It is very easy to find your way around and meet people.  With the small campus and small class sizes, professors are very willing to take time to help you with anything. I also enjoy being in Madison because I am very familiar with the city. 

Matt
Matthew
Centennial, CO
Major:  Sociology

A:  I choose to attend Edgewood College because I appreciate their respect for college athletics at the division 3 level. The way the program is run like a division 1 school makes a student/athlete really strive to play like one. Once I started playing for Edgewood I began to see how the school is run like a team as well. Everyone collaborating and helping one another. Edgewood sports and non-sports are definitely a winning team.

Brianna
Brianna
Barneveld, WI
Major:  Business-Management and Art

A:  Like a lot of students thinking about what college they want to attend, I had no idea. And like many students, I didn’t know what I wanted to do once I was in college. I applied to eight different colleges, some out of state, but I wasn’t getting enough financial aid from many of them, even with one of the higher GPA’s in my graduating class. When I got my financial aid packet from Edgewood, I was thrilled. I received a really good scholarship based on my grades. I had narrowed my college selection down to Edgewood or UW-Richland but I decided that I loved being in Madison too much to go to some other school. Edgewood also had some of the subjects I was interested in looking into, so I made Edgewood my choice.

erin.gif
Erin
Hortonville, WI
Major:  Music

A:  I was born and spent most of my childhood in MIlwaukee and then moved to a small town.  I really wanted to get back to a big city and finding Edgewood in Madison was a choice I couldnt pass up.

rachel.jpg
Rachel
Kaukauna, WI
Major:  Religious Studies & Spanish

A:  When looking at colleges I found that my stereotype school was a small private, Catholic school located in a big city.  I looked at College of St. Catherine in Minneapolis, St Norbert in DePere and Edgewood.  I ended up choosing Edgewood because I really loved the Dominican tradition.  It is also only about two hours away from my home—Minneapolis is close to 6 hours and DePere is a mere 20 minutes down the road.  I like the distance because it keeps me at school, but it is not impossible to go home if I want. 

julie.jpg
Julie
Green Bay, WI
Major:  Business Marketing

A:  I really didn’t want to be some small fish in a big sea that never gets recognized and am just another face in the crowd. In an Edgewood class, it’s really neat because the classes are small enough that all your professors will know you by name and actually get a chance to get to know YOU as a person. Many will even give out their home phone numbers to make sure you can always reach them with questions or help on schoolwork. Plus, I love Madison with its fun nightlife and the Badger games- There’s always something to do!

Leah
Leah
Appleton, WI
Major:  Spanish & Communication Studies
Minor:  Global Education

A:  I found out about Edgewood from my mom who went to Edgewood.  I fell in love with Edgewood because it’s in such a culturally rich city with many opportunities.  I also like that students are able and encouraged to get involved in leadership positions on campus.

Alexandra
Wisconsin Dells, WI
Major:  Deciding (Possibly Communications)

A:  When I first started my college search I was really interested in living in a big city but when I started hearing about the class sizes and total independence of large campuses it scared me a little bit. I graduated from a class of 120 students and wasn’t ready such a big adjustment. I was still interested in the big city lifestyle but a private college fit my needs educationally much more than a large campus. Edgewood has such a nice community feel to it while still being in the heart of Madison.

