Welcome to the bimonthly Q & A Edgewood College Student Experience Blogs:  Twice a month we post a question, and current Edgewood College students answer the question based on their own experience as an EC student.  Feel free to add your own two cents by posting response comments.  Enjoy.  (don’t forget to check out the EC MySpace page as well)

back to the Edgewood College main website

Beth
Beth
Blanchardville, WI
Major:  Business (concentration-accounting)

Regina. I love the single rooms mainly.  It is close to everything on campus and it’s very nice having the dining hall on the lower level. The other girls on the floor are great as well. You all become on big family and it’s like you have several sisters to live with. 

Brianna
Brianna
Barneveld, WI
Major:  Business-Management and Art

I do not live in a residence hall. I decided to live at home my freshman year and commute. I live about thirty miles away from Madison. I don’t mind the drive in but for those thinking about being a commuter, know that it is a lot harder to get to know people. I’ve made a couple of friends but there are a lot of things that I have missed out on. Next year I plan on living on campus or getting an apartment with a friend so I can do more on campus activities.

Alexandra
Wisconsin Dells, WI
Major:  Deciding (Possibly Communications)

I live in Stevie Hall. Each room is a 3 person suite. Meaning I share a room with 2 other girls and then there are 2 sinks for my room through one door. If you walk through the next door there is a toilet and 2 showers which are shared with 3 other girls. Those 3 girls also have 2 sinks and then their room. I like it because you are always interacting with people. Especially at first when everybody was new it was a really easy way to meet other people because you were kind of forced to interact with them when trying to figure out how to set up your room and just figuring out college in general. Also something new in Stevie this year, which is actually right across from my room, is a study room. There are desks and chairs which is like our own little quite areas if we need to study but don’t want to trek through the snow to get to the library.

erin.gif
Erin
Hortonville, WI
Major:  Music

I live in Stevie Hall. I like it because there is always someone to talk to and something to do.  Also because the RA’s are normally pretty cool.

julie.jpg
Julie
Green Bay, WI
Major:  Business Marketing

Although I live off campus now, I lived in Stevie my freshman year. I loved having air-conditioning when it was hot out, a private bathroom so I didn’t have to walk down the hall to use one, and roommates so I always had someone around to talk to and hang around with. The rooms were pretty big, so even though there were three of us girls in one room, we were able to fit all of our stuff in easily. And of course I liked that it was co-ed… 😉

Leah
Leah
Appleton, WI
Major:  Spanish & Communication Studies
Minor:  Global Education

I currently live in Siena which is an on campus apartment for
upperclassmen.  I like it because it’s nearby campus and has a more lax environment.  Everyone is really nice, but I mostly just see my roommates (I have 2).  We have our own kitchen and bathroom which is amazing!

I also lived in Marshall for 2 years.  Marshall is nice because it’s a very low-key, chill environment.  My farthest class was 7 minutes, but it still felt like I was far away from the location of my classes.  Some international students live in this building so it’s great to learn about people from other cultures.

rachel.jpg
Rachel 
Kaukauna, WI
Major:  Religious Studies & Spanish

I live in Regina right now.  I like that I get my own room with my own space.  Most of my friends from high school had to switch roommates at least once their first year because their roommates where not compatible.  With a single room I only have to deal with myself and my mess.  I also like that the rooms are small because people are forced out into the lounge—which is where you meet everyone.

