Welcome to the bimonthly Q & A Edgewood College Student Experience Blogs:  Twice a month we post a question, and current Edgewood College students answer the question based on their own experience as an EC student.  Feel free to add your own two cents by posting response comments.  Enjoy. 

back to the Edgewood College main website

Alexandra
Wisconsin Dells, WI
Major:  Deciding (Possibly Communications)

A:  I’m actually still undecided with my major. However, Edgewood has great resources that have helped me narrow down my choices. I have met with a member of the Student Resource Center and we discussed my different interests and she informed me of numerous careers and areas I could look into. I also took a Majors, Careers, and Self Exploration course during my first semester. Within that class we explored different fields and talked to several people about their career exploration. We also took different personality tests to help pin point our careers interests.

Beth
Beth
Blanchardville, WI
Major:  Business (concentration-accounting)

A:  I knew I loved working with numbers and the business aspect.  I enjoyed accounting in High school also so I am pursuing a business major with a concentration in accounting or finance.  I also enjoyed working with other business and employees through my job and thought that was the career I needed to pursue.

Brianna
Brianna
Barneveld, WI
Major:  Business-Management and Art

A:  I had a lot of different ideas of what I wanted to do when I was a senior last year. Over the summer it came down to either wanting to go into business to own my own business after college or going into biology and then later medical school. I decided I wanted to go into Business-Marketing because I love reading and learning about how things are marketed and advertised. Plus, majoring in Business-Marketing would also give me the skills to open my own business. I am also majoring in Art because I needed to be able to express my creativity. Since then, I have decided that I’m going to combine my majors into a career. I have decided to go into clothing design. I will be taking classes on design at another school while attending Edgewood College.

rachel.jpg
Rachel
Kaukauna, WI
Major:  Religious Studies & Spanish

A:  My major is Religious Studies.  I picked my major because I have a passion in learning about and exploring all religions.  I like to know about people and I think that the religion they align themselves with says a lot about them.  I took a religion class with John Leonard, and he has been really helpful in choosing classes I will like and also different careers I can get with a RS major.

erin.gif
Erin
Hortonville, WI
Major:  Music

A:  I am still working on that. I wasnted to be a Music Major coming in to college this past fall but am now not so sure.  I am simply exploring classes that seem appealing to me and seeing what subject I like more.

julie.jpg
Julie
Green Bay, WI
Major:  Business Marketing

A:  In High School, I was involved in DECA (marketing association) and FBLA (Future Business Leaders of America) and really adored and valued my experiences as a yearning business professional studying the free enterprise system. I realized I didn’t really need to let that go and could major in Business. Since my freshman year, my overall major has stayed the same (marketing), but my additional concentrations and minors have changed. I thought maybe a graphic design minor? And then an individualized International Business concentration (you can make your own majors, minors, and concentrations if Edgewood doesn’t already offer it- how neat!)? And now I’m leaning toward a Spanish minor. It’s not a big deal if you don’t know your majors or minors right away- there’s lots of time to decide and explore what interests you!

Leah
Leah
Appleton, WI
Major:  Spanish & Communication Studies
Minor:  Global Education

A:  I took Intercultural Communication through the Comm Studies department, and decided that I was very interested in Communication.  Also, I had a head start on a Spanish major since I took four years of the language in high school.

