Today we post the first of our bimonthly Q & A Edgewood College Student Experience Blogs.  Twice a month we’ll post a question, and current Edgewood College students will answer the question based on their own experience as an EC student.  Enjoy.

back to the Edgewood College main website

Brianna
Brianna
Barneveld, WI
Major:  Business-Management and Art

A:  The most memorable experience I have had so far was getting to listen to the Yolanda King speech last fall. It was both entertaining and educational. I also bought her book and was one of the first people to have her sign it. It was a lecture that I will never forget.

Beth
Beth
Blanchardville, WI
Major:  Business-Accounting

A:  Being intramural basketball champs.  Intramurals was a lot of fun and I met some great girls on my team.  It was a chance to become active in the college and meet other people.  I created a great bond with the girls on my team and will take that with me for years to come.

Leah
Leah
Appleton, WI
Major:  Spanish & Communication Studies
Minor:  Global Education

A:  I think my involvement with student organizations will be unforgettable.  I have had the chance to lead and be a part of some really interesting events on campus and in Madison.  My sophomore year I planned a town-hall forum discussing the future of Western-Islamic relations.  Also, I was able to help plan for the Yolanda King lecture.  (She’s the daughter of Martin Luther King Jr.)  And every week I tutor English as a second language for our Spanish speaking maintenance staff.

Rachel
Rachel
Kaukauna, WI
Major:  Religious Studies & Spanish

A:  I think so far, my most memorable experience has been helping with Friends Like Us, Edgewood’s Gay/Straight alliance.  The group put on a program with true to life skits and a question-answer session.  Following my participation with the group I thought I would feel some backlash from people when advertising the group, but all I felt was acceptance.  I was proud to be an ally for LGBT’s at this school, a place where they are accepted and feel comfortable about who they are.  Edgewood has allowed me to become who I am and the students, faculty, and staff accept and support me no matter what.

Alexandra
Wisconsin Dells, WI
Major:  Deciding (Possibly Communications)

A:  It was a Friday night and a lot of people were heading out for the night. I didn’t feel that well and wanted to stay in but was upset I would be by myself. I started to head to bed and I had a knock on my door… it was 6 other girls who showed up with their blankets and pillows in hand. We had a little slumber party in my room all sprawled out on the floor and watched a movie and made popcorn. It was great to know I had made friends who were willing to give up their night just so I wouldn’t have to stay in by myself. 

